I reconnected to a game after a 1 hour break near the end of round (timer less than 2 min to go); chose to wait and didn't deploy. The game ended, I disconnected relatively quickly after end-of-game, then reconnected several minutes later into new round and got autoassigned to my previous faction from the other round, placed in reserves squad, and got auto deployed near old MOB location.
I recall walking though that road at the beginning of the previous round several hours before. I didn't get any disconnects in that area, but it seemed to saved my kit (standard recon scout, nothing missing nothing added [which would be how it would've saved near the beginning of the previous round]) and position around there (?). I recall another player using a BTR right in front of me, killing the HMG team near Lancre. Perhaps that's when the save occurred.
Not sure if this is easily reproducible, but something similar happened to some guys before (not sure the circumstances though).